Self-advocacy is a much needed trait to have in all aspects of life.  Whether at school, work or your personal life talking about your feelings, understandings and ability helps you to grow your strengths.  Students, like myself, talk to their teachers and mentors when they have questions or for more opportunities.   High Tech High has over the years taught me to seek out help when I need it and challenges when isn't enough.  In fact, if I hadn't of self-advocated and asked Mr. Leader to place me as the QuikSCience team manager I would not have had the position.  


What's also interesting is on my 3rd or 4th day of work here I had finished my projects and I had no incoming work.  Someone from the company asked me how work was going and I honestly told them "I finished all the marketing work and I don't really have projects to do".  Well he brought me project, after project, after project.  Since then I have been asking people in every department if they have work for me to get done.  This experience has helped me meet new people and be more comfortable asking for more work.  



Leave a Reply.